Christchurch Memorial RSA is a group of four legal entities all governed and managed by the Association. These entities are:

  • Christchurcrh Memorial Returned and Services Association Incorporated;
  • Christchurch RSA Trust Board (Poppy Support Trust);
  • Christchurch RSA Museum and Support Trust;
  • Christchurch RSA Holdings Ltd (trading as Trenches Restaurant Bar and Events).

The governing body of the group of entities is the Christchurch Memorial RSA Executive Committee. The members of the Executive Committee are:

  • President:                  Jim Lilley
  • Vice President:           To be advised
  • Hon. Treasurer:          To be advised
  • Exec Member:            John Collins
  • Exec Member:            Craig Cormack
  • Exec Member:            Gerard Rooney
  • Exec Member:            Craig Ruane
  • Exec Member:            Cameron Mouat
  • Exec Member:            Elder Robati
  • Exec Member:            Kay McIntosh
  • Exec Member:            Chris Ludeke
  • Exec Member:            Dennis Mardle
  • Exec Member:            Max Smith
  • Exec Member:            Tony Westwood

The Board of Directors for Christchurch RSA Holdings Ltd are the officeholders of Christchurch Memorial RSA Inc:

  • Director:                    Craig Cormack
  • Director:                    John Collins
  • Director:                    Jim Lilley

Executive Member Bio's:


Craig Ruane joined the Royal New Zealand Artillery in 1976 as a Member of 32(E) Battery.  He was promoted to Sergeant before being commissioned in 1983.  He served as a Forward Observer, Battery Captain, and Battery Commander of Headquarters Battery, 3 Field Regiment and 32(E) Battery.  In 1996 he served as a Military Observer with UNTSO in Israel and Syria and was promoted to Lieutenant Colonel on his return.  He held various appointments including Instructor at Tactical School in Waiouru and on the directing staff of the Canadian Joint Reserve Command and Staff College in Toronto.

In 2000 he served in East Timor as a Prosecutor with the UNTAET  Serious Crimes Unit.  He is currently a Colonel in the Stand-by Reserve and holds a senior appointment with the Directorate of Legal Services.  He is a Barrister practicing in Christchurch and has previously been a Partner in a Christchurch legal firm and a Senior Prosecutor with the Crown Solicitor’s Office.  He specialises in criminal and civil litigation.  He is the Immediate President of the Canterbury Branch of the NZ Law Society.